Murray Shire Council is one of 152 local councils in NSW, providing vital services and facilities to the local community.

Councils operate within the legislative framework laid down by the State Government. Their powers and responsibilities derive mainly from the Local Government Act 1993, however there are many other Acts and regulations that affect the way in which councils operate.

The Murray Shire Local Government Area (LGA) is located on the NSW/Victorian border at the closest point of the Murray River to Melbourne and shares its boundaries with Wakool, Conargo, Deniliquin and Berrigan Councils. It is well known as a progressive rural Council and has established a reputation as an innovative Local Government authority, which is proactive in attracting new industry and developments.

Murray Shire Council's Mission Statement is "To maintain an autonomous Local Government organisation that works effectively with external organisations and provides a level of service that compliments the further development of the Shire and which will continue to enahnce the lifestyle of the residents".

Murray Shire Council was declared in 1906 as a result of the NSW Local Government (Shires) Act of 1905, which divided the State into LGA's. The Municipality of Moama amalgamated with the Murray Shire Council in 1953.

Today, the Murray Shire consistently ranks amongst the fastest growing LGA's in NSW. In March 2011, the Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) Estimated Residential Population for LGA's showed that Murray Shire Council recorded a growth rate of 1.2% during 2009/10.