About the Council

The Council is a corporate body having perpetual succession.

This means that while the membership of the Council (the nine (9) elected members) will vary from time to time, the actual operation of the Council will continue unaffected. The nine (9) members of the Council are elected for a four (4) year term and carry out their duties under the provisions of the Local Government Act 1993 and Regulations. Each year, a Mayor and Deputy Mayor are elected by the members of the Council. The Mayor, as well as being Chairman of meetings, represents the Council when it is not in session.

Simply stated, the Council is the decision and policy making body, whilst Council's staff are the means by which these decisions and policies are carried into effect.

To find out more about the Murray Shire Council as an organisation, please visit the links below.